Chancery Office

Diocese of Pembroke
188 Renfrew St. P.O Box 7
Pembroke, ON, K8A 6X1
Phone: (613) 732-7933
Fax: (613) 732-1679

Bishop Michael Mulhall

Secretary to the Bishop:
Carole Dufour


English Services:

Quebec Sector:

Rev. Michael Smith


Eucharistic Adoration?

Bishop Barron: Adoration

Home About Us Bishops
Bishops PDF Print E-mail

Bishop Michael Mulhall D.D.

The Eighth Bishop of Pembroke

Most Reverend Michael Mulhall was born in Peterborough, Ontario, on February 25, 1962, one of five children of Vernon and Maureen Mulhall. He received his elementary and secondary education in Peterborough and then studied at Trent University where he obtained his B.A. in 1985. He pursued theological studies in Rome at the Angelicum (S.T.B.—1988) and at the Augustinianum (S.T.L.—1991) while following the formation program at the North American College.


Bishop Mulhall was ordained to the Priesthood for the Diocese of Peterborough on july 21, 1989. From 1991 to 1994, he served in Huntsville. From 1994 to 2002, he served as an official of the Holy See in the Congregation for Oriental Churches. Returning to his native diocese in 2002, he served again briefly in Huntsville and then in Hastings.


In 2003, he was given added responsibilities as Chancellor for Spiritual Affairs and in 2004, as Vicar General of the Diocese of Peterborough. He occupied these positions until June 30, 2007, when he was appointed Bishop of Pembroke, Ontario, by Pope Benedict XVI. He was ordained to the episcopacy in St. Columbkille’s Cathedral, Pembroke, Ontario, on September 21, 2007.

Previous Bishops

Our diocese has been blessed by the service of the following bishops during its history:


Bishop Richard William Smith
Named Bishop of Pembroke: April 27, 2002
Consecrated: June 18, 2002
Installed as Bishop of Pembroke: June 18, 2002
Named Archbishop of Edmonton, Alberta: March 22, 2007

Installed as the Archbishop of Edmonton: May 1, 2007


Bishop Brendan Michael O’Brien, S.T.D.
Named Bishop of Numana: May 9, 1987
Named Auxiliary Bishop of Ottawa: May 9, 1987
Consecrated: June 29, 1987
Named Bishop of Pembroke: May 5, 1993
Installed as Bishop of Pembroke: June 29, 1993
Named Archbishop of St. John’s, Newfoundland: December 4, 2000

Named Archbishop of Kingston: June 1, 2007

Installed Archbishop of Kingston: June 25, 2007


Bishop Joseph Raymond Windle, D.D.
Nominated Auxiliary Bishop of Ottawa: November 24, 1960
Consecrated: January 18, 1961
Named Coadjutor Bishop of Pembroke: January 23, 1969
Named Bishop of Pembroke: February 15, 1971
Retired: May 5, 1993
Died: September 24, 1997

Bishop William Joseph Smith, D.D.
Nominated Bishop of Pembroke: May 19, 1945
Consecrated: July 25, 1945
Installed as Bishop of Pembroke: August 8, 1945
Retired: February 15, 1971
Died: October 28, 1986

Bishop Charles Leo Nelligan, D.D.
Nominated Bishop of Pembroke: August 16, 1937
Consecrated: October 28, 1937
Named Military Ordinary Cdn. Armed Forces: September 20, 1939
Retired: May 18, 1945
Died: March 31, 1974

Bishop Patrick Thomas Ryan, D.D.
Nominated Auxiliary Bishop of Pembroke: May 6, 1912
Consecrated: July 25, 1912
Named Bishop of Pembroke: August 7, 1916
Died: April 15, 1937

Bishop Narcisse Zephirin Lorrain, D.D.
Nominated Vicar Apostolic of Pontiac: July 14, 1882
Consecrated: September 21, 1882
Named Bishop of Pembroke: May 6, 1898
Died: December 16, 1915


Most Visited

St. Columbkille...

Category: Pembroke

Daily Readings

Chancery Office

188 Renfrew Street
PO Box 7
Pembroke, Ontario
Canada K8A 6X1
613 . 732 . 7933 ( t )
613 . 732 . 1679 ( f )

Home About Us Bishops